Episode 036: What really kills a game…

This week we have Howard joining us to talk about what he feels is the real work and key to being a GM and what really kills a game, and it’s not Scheduling (though that’s a close second)! Jinxy starts up a series of spells that need to be fleshed out more, and HURRY to help Doctors Without Boarders and Drive ThruRPG give help to Monsoon Flood victims in Pakistan!

RhoPiGammaEp036.mp3

News: Doctors Without Boarders and Drive ThruRPG
Segments: Jinxy’s Book of Wizardry Stuff: Remove Disease
Main Event: What really kills a game and what a GM really has to worry about…

3 Responses to “Episode 036: What really kills a game…”

  1. Lucas Rampage Says:

    In short, what kills games is poor gaming and poor GMing. “Bad Roleplayers Suck” is a great place to read many of examples of this. Poor gaming could be anything from attempting to play an invincible Mary Sue character to a suicidal slapstick lunatic. Bad GMing could be anything from being overly controlling and nitpicking to lacking the guts to kick a disruptive player out of a group.

    Obviously disruptive people are annoying, but they’re easy to spot. It’s the out-of-nowhere explosions between players that are that are the things that are difficult to deal with. One thing I’ve noticed as a common thread among all the ticking time-bombs of player blow-ups is the passive-aggressive personality trait. Because the player is too afraid to “talk to the GM” or “talk to the player,” they use other means to get what they want that usually have disastrous results. I recommend learning how to spot passive-aggressives and how to deal with them as a generally useful life skill but more so if you want to keep your game from being stealth bombed.

  2. Great ep guys! Keep up the good work!

  3. I remember there was a time at R-MA when Howard was GMing d6 Star Wars, and I was in a weird mood, and blatantly went around trying to get my character killed. As I look back at it, I think SOME players just want to test their limits. I knew my character wouldn’t survive, but I had a death wish. It was obvious that Howard was getting upset, and he let me have it. If I remember it correctly, he grab every set of dice around him and rolled an attack for the person I was ‘assaulting’. Naturally I died and made another character, but my dumb-ass-ery was self evident. It didn’t stop the game entirely, but it definitely affected the mood that day.

    I’ve been in several games that die as well. And I believe the MAIN cause was to lack of GM prep. As you all mentioned, being a GM is challenging, and takes a lot of time to prepare an adventure on a weekly basis. I know I’m guilty of starting a game, getting one or two sessions out of it, then nothing. And people in my gaming group are just a guilty. Although, I must give props to our one GM Kyle, who was able to run us through several 5+ session long adventures (to include Dark Heresy and D&D). But in the end the games died. However, there were times where interests changed and the group wanted to play other games (WH40k, etc.). But it’s my belief that the MAIN reason, outside life interference, is GM prep.

Leave a Reply

